It’s Getting Hot In Here

“Everybody be quiet!  I think someone’s coming!”, Spoon yelled out to everyone.

“What do we do Spoon?”, asked one of the Belgian coffee cups.

“Just act natural”, Spoon assured them, having been through this a thousand times.

Everyone stopped their chattering and went silent. “Shhhhhhhhh, I hear something!”, someone in the back barked out.

Just then the door opened and the sunlight shining in through the open door illuminated every dark corner. Mary pulled the bottom rack out and placed a plate near the back. Not just any plate though, this was Mary’s fine China. Something she wouldn’t normally put in the dishwasher. In fact she’s never put her China in the dishwasher before.

“Excuse me. Miss? I don’t mean to bother you but, I think you’ve made a terrible mistake”, the fine China calmly complained.

“Ssshhhhhhhhhhhh!”, Spoon quickly scolded.

Mary, stopped in the middle of pushing the rack back in. She listened carefully but heard nothing. She must be spending too much time cooped up in the house, she was beginning to hear voices. Listening for another moment, waiting for something….anything. “What in the world am I doing?”, Mary said to no one in particular. Once again the door to the dishwasher swung closed.

Once the door closed one of the knives let out a sigh, “Whheeeww. That was close”.

“I told you guys not to talk when she’s around. Oh, it’s you. I swear I will break you if you can’t control yourself China!”, Spoon was livid now, the last thing they all needed was for Mary to hear them talking.

“I can’t be in here you realize, of course? I’m sorry I can’t stay but, I must be leaving now”, the China calmly explained.

Spoon rolled his eyes and said, “Listen! I’ve been here longer than any of you, so you better listen to me when I tell you that if you don’t keep your mouths shut when she’s around…”.

“Wait!”, shouted a bowl from overhead. “Spoon, I think I hear her coming back”.

Silence once again filled the inside of the dishwasher. Silence that was interrupted by the clicking of knobs being turned on the outside.

“She wouldn’t?  Already?”, Spoon asked.

“But we’re barely half full?”, a fork chimed in.

She would, and she did. Mary turned the knob on the dishwasher and thus, started the cycle.

And so it begins...
And so it begins…

“What’s that noise, what’s going on???”, pleaded the China, “I demand to know what’s going on around here!”

“You’ll find out in a minute China”, Spoon shot back with a smirk on his face. Before the China could even get another word out, something overhead started spinning.

“That’s odd”, thought the China. Then it happened, the heavens opened up and it started to rain. “This isn’t so bad”, thought the China. “It’s kind of refreshing……like being washed in the sink, but with jacuzzi jets!”

Knowingly Spoon watched and waited, “Wait for it……wait for it…….3…….2……..1……and…”.

“My dear lord! It’s getting kinda hot in here isn’t it? I think somethings wrong with this thing!”, said the China with water dripping down its fine veneer.

The water was pouring down now, and getting hotter by the second. It was turning into a sauna in there.

“I’m not made for this, it’s too hot……it’s not supposed to be this hot……is it?”, pleaded the China.

“Quit your whining fancy pants!”, was shouted down from someone above, “It’s only gonna get hotter in a minute!”

They were right too, the water was just getting warmed up, so to speak.

“She isn’t supposed to put me in here you know, I’m supposed to be washed in the sink…..warm water only!”, the China continued.

“HELP!!!  HELP!!!”, the China shouted to no avail, “There’s been a mistake! Get me out of here!!”

Mary stopped again. Standing there alone in the kitchen….listening. “I swear I heard someone screaming for help……..god I’m losing it. I gotta get out of here”, she said and quickly turned and headed for the front door, grabbing her keys along the way.

Slam! The front door closed.

“Quit you’re whining China, nobodies gonna hear you screaming from in here”, Spoon said with a little too much joy in his voice, but then again he couldn’t help himself. He loved to see the dainty and spoiled China get what was coming to it. “Don’t worry China, it’ll be over in…….ohhh 45 minutes or so, hahahah!”

5 thoughts on “It’s Getting Hot In Here

  1. Very dramatic, and well-written.
    I have a hard time reading the text on your blog though, my eyes aren’t the same any longer. Grey on black kills them. 😦

    1. Thank you! Honestly I’m not completely sold on the theme myself as I’ve just switched to it. I actually find a dark background with white text easier on my eyes, but only the headers are white with this theme. I don’t think the grey text is such a bright idea, pun intended 🙂

      1. Thank you. I like your blog, and would love to read it without eye strain. I find Black on white easiest to read, and the easier a blog is to read, the more time I spend in it :). But it is your blog, and you must do what you think is best.

        1. I don’t mind black text on an off white background, but I really find when 90% of the screen is blindingly white it puts an incredible amount of strain on your eyes. Sort of like staring into a light bulb. We can agree that grey text on dark background is a lot of work to read though, so in the spirit of compromise, and the fact I’m not yet sold on this theme, I’m willing to try this until I find just what I’m looking for 😉

Leave a Reply

