Puppy Love

First let me answer some questions before they get asked.  No I’m not dead.  Yes I still have access to a computer and the internet.  Yes I still know how to write, relatively speaking of course.  Ummmm, I think that should about cover it.  Let me know if I missed anything.

Okay, on to the post…

There are few things in the world as pure as a puppy’s love.  Few things that can melt your heart the way a puppy can when they look up at you with those puppy dog eyes.  I’m sighing to myself just thinking about it.

A little while back my girlfriend and I made the decision that we wanted to get another pet.  There really wasn’t much question about what type of animal we were going to get.  We weren’t getting another rabbit anytime soon and the topic of a cat lasted about 5 seconds.  I think it went something like this.

“How about a cat?”

“Pussy”

“Okay.  A dog it is then!”

I could be confused though, it may actually have been “How about a pussy cat?”.  Although I doubt it.

Now, there was a lot of discussion about what breed of dog would be joining our little family.  As a dog lover there were about a dozen breeds that came to mind.  Retriever, German short-haired Pointer, Shar Pei, Lab, Basset Hound…..or pretty much any hound really.  In the end though, we knew instantly what it was going to be once the breed was brought up.  A Weimaraner (pronounce it however you want, I’m fairly certain I pronounce it wrong and it doesn’t bother me).

After much searching we decided that it may be a wee bit too hyper for us.  It also may have a bit too much separation anxiety.  So in the end we found a breeder who has Weimaraner Lab crosses.  After some reading we realized that the cross alleviates some of the separation anxiety and also gives you a slightly calmer animal.  “Slightly” may be an exaggeration though.

So our baby girl, who we’ve had for about 3 weeks now, is 75% Weimaraner and 25% Lab.  Because of the lab mix she isn’t the normal grey or silver that you will find, she’s actually black.  Very, very black.  To the point where when she is lying on our couch (which is dark but not black) napping we often can’t see her even when we’re standing a couple of feet away.  There have been a few incidents of wandering around the house calling her name only to stroll by the couch for the 5th time and see her lift her head and give us the “why are you waking me up” puppy eyes.  Priceless.

Sleep.

Oh how I miss a solid nights sleep.  Waking up to the alarm clock.  Never thought I’d miss that!  It only took us a couple of nights to have her sleeping by herself in her crate though.  She’s a fast learner, there’s little doubt about that.  Mind you, the first couple nights consisted of her crying, I don’t know how else to describe it, until sometime around 5 AM.  It was agonizing to not go downstairs and scoop her up to comfort her when she cried.  Heartbreaking really.  Listening to at least 10 different kinds of crying.  The, how could you leave me.  The, you forgot me.  The, where is everyone.  The, I’m so lonely.  The, how would you do this to me.  It breaks my heart to even think about it, so thank god it only took a couple of days.  I’m not sure I could have lasted any longer than that, and I know my girlfriend couldn’t have.

She goes to bed without a fight now, and sleeps through the night without any crying.  Waking up though.  Waking up is the next battle.  At first she got up just after my alarm would go off, which was great.  Then, each night her awakening would happen about 15 minutes earlier.  Which isn’t so bad when it’s 6:30 in the morning.  It is a little much when it’s 4:30 in the morning however.  Nothing like being up while it’s still pitch black out on a Saturday night Sunday morning.

I wouldn’t give it up for the world though.  She’s sweet.  She’s loving.  She is adorable.  She can’t wait to see me in the morning, always greeting me at the bottom of the stairs when I come down in the morning to go to work.  Running through the hall to greet me at the door when I come home at night.  She lights my day up.  Puts the biggest smile on my face.  Sigh.  Love!

Her feet are too big for her, clearly.  It seems as though the only thing that won’t grow any more is her feet, because I’m pretty sure they were full size when we got her.  Oh, and her ears are almost the same size as her head.  My little weemer!

Soon, when she’s done her meds, we’ll be able to take her for walks where she can meet other dogs.  We’ll take her to school where she’ll learn to listen to her mom finally more.  She already saw her first squirrel, who promptly ran up a tree, apparently unaware that my baby had no idea they are arch enemies.  So much to look forward to.  So many things I know of, and so many that I have no clue about yet.

Oh, I should also say that I had no idea puppy teeth were as sharp as razors.  I mean, I must have a dozen holes in my hand from her “playing” with me.  To fix this I’m in the market for renting a puppy for her to play with.  One that will hopefully be bitten by her and also bite her back.  You know, to show her that we’re not lying through our teeth when we say it hurts.  Let me know if you can hook me up!

I’m now going to break my own rule and use her real name, because I just can’t help myself.  This sweet little girls name is Eva.  Isn’t she an angel?  If When we decide to get another one we will name him Wally.

And now for the pics:

If you are curious where I am from now on, I’ll be smothering my baby girl for as long as she’ll let me, because I simply can’t put into words how much I am in love with her…

6 thoughts on “Puppy Love

  1. Oh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    (*gushes*)

    My wee Tedd E. Bear (read HUGE Blonde Shepherd) is (well – BECAME) my total love/child/friend/protector.

    Your baby girl is precious and sweet.

    No bond is quite like the one you will have with her.

    (Not every one will give their lives for someone they love – a loving dog will – I have found that one out)

    After years of being a ‘cat person’ and then being blessed with a dog ‘child’ – the difference is clear (and one I always worried about when thinking of dogs)

    Cats are separate entities.

    They are simply more evolved to extract their needs from us without compromise…

    Whereas – dogs are as close to people as a non human can be.

    Have fun growing together!

    M.L.

    1. I know exactly what you mean about that special bond you have.

      Oddly, my parents always had cats growing up and then they slowly transitioned to dogs. I love both but they are so different, opposites really, and there’s no doubt that I am a “dog person”.

      I think you’re right too.

      Cat’s get whatever they want from us. They are out for themselves.

      Dogs give whatever they can to us. They are selfless and would do ANYTHING for us.

      Thank you, as always.

  2. What a beauty! I’m in love with Eva too! Awweeee! She’s so adorable, right? I just want to eat her up she’s so cute! Those ears….

    Thanks for sharing and I’m so glad you’re back — but totally makes sense… you’ve been busy!

    Uhm, and I doubt it’s going to get any easier anytime soon! Ha!

    Hugs to Eva too! And congrats on the new addition to the familia!

    Carmen

    1. She is, isn’t she?

      The ears, the feet, and the eyes. Oh when those eyes look at you, you just melt.

      I think it will get a touch, just a touch, easier once she’s done her meds and we can take her for a walk. Do you know how hard it is to tire a high energy puppy out in the backyard? I’m thinking being able to go for a long walk in the park will help. Maybe, dare I say it, a “jog” in the park?

      Thanks Carmen, hugs right back.

      1. OH MY GOD, I forbide any jogging of any sort! NOOOOOOOOOO… oh, you met Eva? Oh, yeah, she’s allowed…

        I think once she gets all set with the meds she’ll have so much fun outside running — it’ll tire her out for a good evenings sleep. Ha! You can wish for that anyways…

        I so love her already! What a beauty! Love the pics! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the pics!

        And love that you’re back… even if it might be just for this one post. I hope not though… but I’ll be happy to just have you back around now JM!

        Carmen

  3. OOOH! What a sweet widdle puppy!

    As you were going down the list of what kind of dog to get, I just *knew* you were going to pick English Bulldog. But you got the next cutest one on the planet!!

    Have fun with her!

Leave a Reply

