Doctors who don’t care

I was just out because I had to drive my girlfriend to her weekend job. So I decided that I would stop by the walk-in clinic just down the street from there, maybe get my knees looked at by someone else and hopefully get my codeine prescription refilled since tomorrow is a holiday here in Canada and my doctor might not be open. Unbeknownst to me the walk-in clinic closes at 4 but, it would seem I was in luck since I got there at 3:45!
I go walking through the halls and get to the door to the clinic and just as I do the doctor comes walking out and sees me about to try to open the door. He then proceeds to tell me, in a not altogether friendly way that I’m too late. “We close at 4 but you have to register half an hour in advance. Otherwise people might have the nerve to show up right before they close and keep them there until 5”. I’m paraphrasing of course, he didn’t actually say “the nerve”. He then proceeded to lock the door and watch me limp down the hall. Limp probably isn’t the right word since I’m trying not to put weight on either leg, but you get the point. So rather than stay a few minutes late to help an injured person, he decided to close up shop 10 minutes before they were supposed to close! I’m a little livid right now.
You are supposed to be a doctor! You are supposed to help people! To care about your patients. Isn’t that what being a doctor is all about? Not just making lots of money and taking off early so you can go golfing or something! So, if you are in need of a walk-in clinic and looking for a doctor who really doesn’t care at all about you this is the place for you! Of course if you want a caring and dedicated doctor I would recommend not going to the walk-in clinic on Harvester Road in Burlington.

7 thoughts on “Doctors who don’t care

    1. Yes I feel like if I bought a lottery ticket right now I’d end up owing them a million dollars or something!
      As for the prescription, I’ve got enough for the next couple says I think, I’ve been conserving the pain killers by only taking it twice a day instead of three times a day. It helps to remind me how much it hurts, haha. I can’t get it refilled because she said I’d be better in “a couple days”, so she didn’t give me any refills or anything. I guess I’ll just wait it out…

  1. I wonder if they would have helped you had you shown up earlier. The walk-in clinic near me has a sign prominently displayed which says that they won’t prescribe narcotics of any kind. No exceptions. So when I get a migraine I know already that I’ll have to go to a hospital instead.

    1. You make a good point, and now that I think about it I have seen that sign at other walk-in clinics. So I probably wouldn’t have been able to get it there anyway. It still doesn’t excuse the lack of………compassion or caring for lack of better words, that he displayed.

  2. I am deeply mistrustful of walk-in clinics in general. For some unknown reason they have a habit of misdiagnosing me. Once I nearly died as a result. “Oh, looks like tonsillitis, probably viral. It’ll clear up in a few days.” My parents found out two days later from emergency room doctors that it was scarlet fever. I don’t really trust the guys in any way, shape or form.

    Man, that sucks about your prescription. What province are you in? In Alberta I am pretty sure that pharmacists can refill prescriptions now.

    1. Yeah I can see why you would be wary of them. Scarlet fever does not sound good! I’m not exactly trusting of them myself. I felt like I was on an episode of House for a while there….”Here let’s try this….nope its not that, so it must be this….nope, then its gotta be this…”. Its like they’re throwing darts at a board or something!

      I’m in Ontario and I’m not sure if pharmacists can refill prescriptions or not? Although, being that its a narcotic, which I’m now aware of, I doubt that they would.

Leave a Reply

