Under The Weather

I am like a child when I’m sick.

There I said it. I’m not sure if its just me, but when I’m sick, and by “sick” I mean have a cold or something, I feel as though I’m not capable of doing anything. I’ve been told that I’m like a baby, I need someone to take care of me when I’m sick, someone to make me soup, tea, and anything else I need. I find myself laying down on the couch, unable or unwilling to do anything for myself. Its not pretty, but that’s just the way I am, I’ve come to accept that.

I’ve noticed that, in general, women seem to be capable of so much more when they are feeling under the weather. Men on the otherhand, at least those I know, tend to be useless. I know personally when I’m sick it makes me feel so much better to have someone there to take care of me. It makes me feel loved and at peace to know someone is there and I don’t have to worry about anything.

Today I’m taking the rest of the day off work, I only went in this morning because I like to think I’m important and things wouldn’t function without me. It only took about an hour and a half for me to realize I can’t think clearly when I’m so congested and my head feels like its going to explode. So my being there and not actually being able to function probably wasn’t going to help much.

My next stop is my couch, where I will curl up with a blanket, watch a little TV and maybe find the energy to turn my laptop on. I’m not the only one who is so useless when they’re under the weather am I?

On a side note, “under the weather”. Where else would you be but under it?

4 thoughts on “Under The Weather

  1. When I’m sick, I’m completely a baby! And useless! And I’m know I’m a pretty fierce woman so it can’t be that I’m letting my sister-ern down…I just have that sort of weakness.

    The men in my life tend to deny their ever sick. And then, when they can’t breathe or function completely, then, they are complete babies!

    But I’m like you — I get sick, I’m down for the count. I think it’s better to rest and relax and let your body do it’s thing than to push it to it’s limit where it just gets worse.

    Feel better soon. We’ll miss you!

    Nadia.

    1. I am all for resting and relaxing when I’m sick, no question there. I have people telling me,”You should get up and do something, you’ll feel better!”. Ummmmm no. I would feel better if I was curled up on the couch, resting actually.

      Glad to hear I’m not alone in being a complete baby when I’m sick. You don’t have to miss me, although its sweet that you would, I’m probably just going to relax and maybe try to do some writing while I’m lounging on the couch.

      Thanks Nadia.

  2. I’ve noticed a dichotomy when it comes to injury and illness in men.

    When we chop off a finger, we wear that wound like a badge, and we go on with our lives, proudly proclaiming how we can function “just fine without it”. We seem to like the praise. It enables us.

    But yes, when we get the sniffles we’re down for the count, and we want that female attention. I once went around my office telling all the women “I’m sick and I’m looking for sympathy from all the best looking babes.” *pause* “So, do you feel sorry for me?”

    Got them smiling every time. One of them even brought over some chicken soup.

    1. That’s so true. I, having worked in restaurants, have had more than my fair share of burns and cuts. In that situation I’ve got no problem just patching it up and going back to work like nothing has happened. Being sick is another story though.

      Yes, there is something about being sick and having a kind and sweet woman to look after you. Unfortunately I am stuck looking after myself today…….unless any kind, sweet, beautiful woman want to offer to come take care of me???

Leave a Reply

