Driving Cross Country

I’ve always wanted to drive cross-country; whether it be across Canada or driving south through the US.  I mean I’ve wanted to for years, and until I bought my house about a year ago it probably would have been a pretty simple thing to arrange.  I know it would be a little more difficult now, but I bet it wouldn’t be too hard to put together.  What is stopping me from actually doing it?  That is a good question…

I wish I knew why I haven’t done it.  Actually I guess deep down I must know, I wish I could figure out why I haven’t done it (yet).  I have driven out to the east coast, to Halifax, before.  I spent a couple weeks out there visiting a friend who had moved back home to Halifax and it was wonderful, every part of it was wonderful.  Thanks to Facebook, now there is a phrase I never thought I’d use in a positive context, I’ve once again gotten back in touch with this friend and I’m so glad too.

While on the subject of Facebook I have to say that it is everything that I am not.  I am a shy, private person and Facebook is just so……open.  I avoid going on the site and the only real interaction I get from it is through the emails that Facebook sends me when people send me messages or other such things.  It’s really just too open, did I mention that already, it’s really kind of overwhelming for me.  Originally the only reason I even signed up was because I needed to do it for work.

So back to the subject at hand, why have I not taken my cross-country trip?  I’m going to have to ponder that some more, as well as where I would go if I did, although honestly I could care less as long as it’s somewhere…

8 thoughts on “Driving Cross Country

  1. I’m too chicken to drive cross-country. I don’t know — I love traveling, but not so much by car? Hmmm…maybe I have to ponder that as well! I’m thinking a great train ride might be the way to go. . . (you should write more on that facebook thing…it’s an interesting perpective….).

    1. I absolutely love traveling, although I haven’t done too much of it. I’ve always lived in the same area and haven’t really been too many different places, a few but not many. I also love driving, why I’m not sure because I really don’t like other drivers, lol.

      A train ride would be interesting, I have to say I don’t think I’ve ever been on a train except to go to Toronto or something, that may be something for me to consider as well.

      As far as the facebook thing, I think I will work my way up to it. I’m still getting used to publishing personal things and in all honesty it’s not very easy for me. If it wasn’t for the fact that I enjoy writing so much I really don’t think I’d be able to do it.

      Thanks again for the comment, it’s great to get some feedback.

      1. I’ve never been on a train ride either — that’s why I’m thinking, maybe. Sounds interesting anyways.

        Aah, trust me, I get the publishing personal stuff — I think I’m the opposite. Uggh, hope that’s not a bad thing. Hee!

        1. I don’t think either of them are bad, just different, and there’s nothing wrong with that. I think I find it much easier to share personal stuff to people I haven’t met than I do people that know me and even that, for me, is a step in the right direction.

          I have so many things I feel like writing about that I wouldn’t have considered sharing just a few weeks ago, now I just have to find the time and the words…

  2. As a veteran road tripper, I highly suggest that cross country trip! I LOVE road trips. I’ve been back and forth several times. In fact, I have another planned for KY to NJ with my mom and her sister. That should be fun. It’s a little known fact that riding in the car with two seniors is not altogether different than riding with two teenagers (oh that will definitely be a blog someday! lol)

    Thanks for stopping by! It’s nice to meet you!

    1. Thank you for stopping by, it’s always nice to connect with new people. I absolutely love traveling, as much by car as by any other way. Every year, except this one, I drive 5 hours to go to Algonquin Park for a week and it is the most amazing place. Also driving to Nova Scotia was a very special experience and I would love to do something similar, either out west or through the states somewhere.

      I’d love to read about the comparison of driving with seniors vs teenagers, lol, I’m sure it would be quite interesting.

Leave a Reply

